Consulate General of Japan in New York

Location / Hours / Contact

Starting Monday, April 20th, 2020, in order to prevent the spread of novel coronavirus infections, non-contact thermometers will be used for those who come to the Consulate reception area on the first floor. Based on body temperature, if we see a reading of 37.5 degrees Celsius or higher, visitors will not be allowed to enter the Consulate. Therefore, if you feel unwell, please visit us at a later date.

Address
Consulate General of Japan in New York
299 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10171
(between 48th and 49th Streets)
19th Floor: Main Office
18th Floor: Visa / Consular Service
18th Floor: Japan Information Center

The Consulate General, in order to ensure the safety of all visitors, requires all visitors to pass through a thorough security check. Any items or materials deemed as hazardous, such as knives (including cutlery and utility knives) explosives, and any other weapons are strictly prohibited. Thank you for your understanding and cooperation. Please note: Building management regulations do not permit pets(dogs, cats, etc) on the premises.

Hours

Visa / Consular Services:

Our new office hours are as follows:
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday 09:30 AM - 1:00 PM
(We will be closed holidays).

*Temporary change of Visa Application window hours:
Visa Window will be open as follows:
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday 09:30 AM - 1:00 PM
However, visa Applications are currently only being accepted 12:00 noon - 13:00 PM.
(Visa window will be closed holidays).

*Services available by appointment only
Please contact us prior to your visit so that we can prepare the required amount of social distancing in our waiting room.
For Visa Applications: Tel: 212-371-8222 Ext. 492
For Japanese Passport, Notification, Certificate, etc.: Tel: 212-371-8222 Ext. 486
Reservation calls are accepted from Monday to Friday from 09:30 to 16:00. (Excluding holidays)

[ Temporary Change of Consular Services ]
https://www.ny.us.emb-japan.go.jp/

Japan Information Center:

Our consulate has been carefully monitoring the novel coronavirus outbreak in the US.
After careful consideration, JIC window will be temporary closed (effective March 23rd, 2020).
If you have an urgent matter, please email inquiry@ny.mofa.go.jp.
We appreciate your understanding and cooperation.

Contact

(212)371-8222 (24 hours)

[ Visa / Consular Services ]
TEL: (212)888-0889
- Email for Japanese VISA related questions:
- Email for Consular related questions(Passport, Notification, Certificate, Pension, Insurance, Education, Safety measures):

Holiday Schedule

The Consulate is closed on the following holidays:

2020年
Dec. 25 (Fri) Christmas Day
Dec. 29 (Tue) Year's End Holiday
Dec. 30 (Wed) Year's End Holiday
Dec. 31(Thu) Year's End Holiday
* Last day of business is Dec 28th (Mon)
2021年
Jan. 1 (Fri) New Year's Day (2021)
* First Day of Business is Jan 4th (Mon)
Jan. 2 (Sat) New Year's Holiday
Jan. 3 (Sun) New Year's Holiday
Jan. 18 (Mon) Martin Luther King Jr's Day
Feb. 15 (Mon) President's Day
Feb. 23 (Tue) Emperor's Birthday
Apr. 2 (Fri) Good Friday
May. 3 (Mon) Constitution Memorial Day
May. 31 (Mon) Memorial Day
Jul. 5 (Mon) Independence Day (Observed)
Jul. 23(Fri) Sports Day (Tokyo Olympics)
Sep. 6 (Mon) Labor Day
Oct. 11 (Mon) Columbus Day
Nov. 11 (Thu) Veteran's Day
Nov. 25 (Thu) Thanksgiving Day
Nov. 26 (Fri) Day after Thanksgiving Day
Dec. 24 (Fri) Christmas Day (Observed)
Dec. 29 (Wed) Year's End Holiday
Dec. 30 (Thu) Year's End Holiday
Dec. 31(Fri) Year's End Holiday
* Last day of business is Dec 28th (Tue)